0151 709 4321
<December 2017>

Liverpool Hope Playwriting Prize

In 2014 , we worked with Liverpool Hope University on an exciting new project aimed to encourage new writing and give more people an opportunity to work within the theatre industry and  launched The Liverpool Hope Playwriting Prize; a competition looking for the next great comedy play. The winner, Katie Mulgrew, received £10,000 and the chance of having her  work performed right here in Liverpool!

The winning play, Omnibus, was produced at The Unity Theatre in June 2017 to great critical acclaim. This propted the start of a new working relationship between Liverpool's Royal Court and the Unity Theatre with support for the show coming from Arts Council England.

In 2017 we were able to announce our second winner, Simon Bradbury's The Last Act of Love of J B Moliere. 

The play was chosen through a process by which a panel of experienced readers whittled down the entries to a final shortlist of 10 scripts. These scripts were then reviewed by our panel of judges including: Actor and Comedian Les Dennis, Playwright Amanda Wittington, London 2012 Olympics Opening Ceremony Co-Creator Frank Cottrell-Boyce, Editor of The Stage Alistair Smith, Liverpool Echo Arts Editor Catherine Jones, Liverpool’s Royal Court Chief Executive Kevin Fearon, and Deputy Head of the Department of Drama, Dance and Performance Studies at Liverpool Hope University Dr John Bennett.

Discussions are already underway about running the competition again in 2018, with a view to choosing a winner in 2019.

All scripts will be judged anonymously. The competition is open to anyone resident in the United Kingdom, Republic of Ireland, British Overseas Territory or with a British Forces Post Office address who is 18 years of age or over on the date of submission of their entry. Scripts must be the work of the person submitting, and be original, unpublished and professionally unperformed. Terms and Conditions apply. You can find full Terms and Conditions on the Liverpool Hope Playwriting Prize website.

For more details about the competition visit here